If there is a small, shallow stream (usually dry) going through a fairway. The TD declares ahead of time that it is casual water. What would you do in the following situation:
Player tees off. The disc lands in the stream. By the time the players make it to the disc, it has been carried by water and has come to rest in the water 30 feet downstream, still in bounds.
At Herrington and Octoberfriz,I`ve seen drives enter casual water out of the players line of sight,both times the discs washed into river and streams disappearing.The player in Herrington was ruled O.B.
When you have to choose between your woman and discgolf,don`t be stupid-choose the discgolf.
803.03F
A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is
floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the
water.
what if it continued to be moved by the water-if you stopped it would you be impeding it`s "motion"?(803.07)I`m of the opinion that this should be reconsidered.Somewhere Iread (803.03 f)that it was dead once it was moving only by the force of the water.My question would be if the group could not see the disc enter the water...is this a re-tee? It is not lost .It is not ob.By the answer you recieved if it does`nt stop, it is still in play .That is just wrong.please ask for clarification -maybe the question was misunderstood.Where does the player shoot from 1.)old rule was group consensus last seen.As it is not "lost" does this apply? is it addressed anywhere else in the book?Unless" approximate lie" definition is stretched or 803.01 section 5 is used to replay the hole I see a player getting penalized because this was not covered by the T.D.as a special condition. after note! Ryan did specifyTHAT HAS COME TO REST. what if this is not the case?
Last edited by ronconversjr on Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If it can't be seen when it enters the water, then i say it should be played where it is found. If the water isn't OB and the disc gets carried down stream some take it from where you find it, and play it where it lies.Unless TD clarifyes otherwise before hand