Due to inactivity the KDGA forums have been locked. All past threads are still available. Please join us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/groups/kansasdiscgolf!

casual water, disc carries

Out of date topics will be moved here.

Whaddaya do?

Play it where it lies.
4
29%
Take it back to an approximate lie.
10
71%
 
Total votes: 14

User avatar
beisner
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Pratt / Hays
Contact:

casual water, disc carries

Post by beisner »

If there is a small, shallow stream (usually dry) going through a fairway. The TD declares ahead of time that it is casual water. What would you do in the following situation:

Player tees off. The disc lands in the stream. By the time the players make it to the disc, it has been carried by water and has come to rest in the water 30 feet downstream, still in bounds.
/-=\_29151~-^\_
smitty
Posts: 8009
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 6:19 pm
Location: Walnut Valley

Post by smitty »

As soon as the water was moving the disc, it was no longer under its own power.

You would mark the disc no closer to the hole, and play it as normal casual water.
User avatar
Schoen-hopper
Posts: 6301
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:58 pm

Post by Schoen-hopper »

This happened to Nate at the DU Open.

Question is how do you mark it if it floated downstream before you could get to it? An approximation agreed to by the majority?
User avatar
beisner
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Pratt / Hays
Contact:

Post by beisner »

I agree.

You and I were on that card when it happened. I did send the pdga rules guy the same question, curious of the official response.
/-=\_29151~-^\_
Friz-Rocker
Posts: 885
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: working on songs for my new band

Post by Friz-Rocker »

At Herrington and Octoberfriz,I`ve seen drives enter casual water out of the players line of sight,both times the discs washed into river and streams disappearing.The player in Herrington was ruled O.B.
When you have to choose between your woman and discgolf,don`t be stupid-choose the discgolf.
User avatar
Ruder
Posts: 1584
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 4:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Ruder »

What Smitty said.
I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times.
User avatar
beisner
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Pratt / Hays
Contact:

Post by beisner »

I think we made the right call @ Herrington, bringing it back to an appx lie.
/-=\_29151~-^\_
nastyNate
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:58 pm
Location: Salina

Post by nastyNate »

i played from where it ended up
#23996
User avatar
beisner
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Pratt / Hays
Contact:

Post by beisner »

Nate, you sucker! :D :P
/-=\_29151~-^\_
nastyNate
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:58 pm
Location: Salina

Post by nastyNate »

i know, i am so gullible!
#23996
ronconversjr
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: TOP OF THE CARD

Post by ronconversjr »

Ruder wrote:What Smitty said.
8) 8) of course!
User avatar
beisner
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Pratt / Hays
Contact:

Post by beisner »

:arrow: Here's the PDGA stance on this question:


"Dear Ryan,

Thanks for writing!

Absent of any "special conditions" coverage by the TD, one would play it
where it lies.

Yours Sincerely;

Carlton Howard
PDGA Rules Committee Chairman"
/-=\_29151~-^\_
User avatar
beisner
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Pratt / Hays
Contact:

Post by beisner »

This seems to conflict that stance:

803.03F
A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is
floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the
water.
/-=\_29151~-^\_
ronconversjr
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: TOP OF THE CARD

Post by ronconversjr »

what if it continued to be moved by the water-if you stopped it would you be impeding it`s "motion"?(803.07)I`m of the opinion that this should be reconsidered.Somewhere Iread (803.03 f)that it was dead once it was moving only by the force of the water.My question would be if the group could not see the disc enter the water...is this a re-tee? It is not lost .It is not ob.By the answer you recieved if it does`nt stop, it is still in play .That is just wrong.please ask for clarification -maybe the question was misunderstood.Where does the player shoot from 1.)old rule was group consensus last seen.As it is not "lost" does this apply? is it addressed anywhere else in the book?Unless" approximate lie" definition is stretched or 803.01 section 5 is used to replay the hole I see a player getting penalized because this was not covered by the T.D.as a special condition. after note! Ryan did specifyTHAT HAS COME TO REST. what if this is not the case?
Last edited by ronconversjr on Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gippy
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 8:37 am
Location: Southern MAine

Post by gippy »

If it can't be seen when it enters the water, then i say it should be played where it is found. If the water isn't OB and the disc gets carried down stream some take it from where you find it, and play it where it lies.Unless TD clarifyes otherwise before hand
Post Reply